Geographical position
Croatia extends from the foothills of the Julian Alps in the north-west and the Pannonian Plain in the east, over the Dinara mountain range in its central region, to the Adriatic coast in the south.

Area: 56,542 km2, with an additional 31,067 km2 of territorial waters.

Population: 4.437.460, the bigest Croatian agglomerations are: Zagreb, Split, Rijeka, Osijek, Zadar, Slavonski Brod, Pula, Karlovac, Nova Gorica, Kaštela etc.

Zagreb (779.145 inhabitants - the administrative, cultural, academic and communication centre of the country).

Length of coast
5,835 km - including 4,058 km of island, islet and reef coastline.

Number of islands, islets and reefs
1,244. The largest islands are those of Krk and Cres. There are 67 inhabited islands.

Northern Croatia has a continental climate; Central Croatia has a semi-highland and highland climate, while the Croatian coast has a Mediterranean climate. Winter temperatures range from -1 to 30°C in the continental region, -5 to 0°C in the mountain region and 5 to 10°C in the coastal region. Summer temperatures range from 22 to 26°C in the continental region, 15 to 20°C in the mountain region and 26 to 30°C in the coastal region.

The majority of the population are Croats. National minorities include Serbs, Moslems, Slovenes, Italians, Hungarians, Czechs, Slovaks, and others. Official language and alphabet Croatian language and Latin alphabet.
The majority of the population are Roman Catholics, and in addition there are a number of those of Orthodox faith, as well as Muslims, and Christians of other denominations.

- Croatia has three types of climate: Mountain, Mediteranean and Continental
- With a very specific coast and most than 1.000 island, the length of coast is about 5.835Km. It's the reason for what Croatia is today for sure TOP destination for sailing in Europe
- Croatia has exactly 1.244 islands, the particularity of Croatian islands is that except one (Jabuka), all islands are stone composed (carstic)
- It's in Croatia that the Cravat appeared
- Croatia has 7 sites protected by Unesco (Dubrovnik, Diocletian palace in Split, the old town of Trogir, the lakes of Plitvice, the Cathedral of St Jack in Šibenik, the Euphrasian basilica in Poreč and the old Greek plains in Stari Grad (Hvar)
- Croatia has 8 National Park, 3 are situated on the Adriatic sea (Kornati, Brijuni, Mljet), 5 on the land (Krka, Paklenica, Sjeverni Velebit, Risnjak, Plitvice).

About Croatia